there are bad times, but that’s okay, just look for the love in it, don’t burn the day away

Dealing with baby eating problems is not easy. And it seems like I have been dealing with them since she was born. It makes me feel horrible actually – that I can’t even feed my own baby.

First I had problems breastfeeding. I wasn’t making enough milk… maybe 2 ounces every 24 hours. I involved a lactation consultant who had me pumping every 2 hours for 10 minutes and one power pump a day – which is 10 minutes pumping then 10 minutes not, repeat for an hour and and half.

In Dani’s first three days home she lost almost a pound and by Friday of that week (at a week old) she had lost 1 pound 2 ounces, weighing 7 pounds 3 ounces. When her doctor saw her she immediately left the room and came back with a bottle of formula and stuck it in her mouth.

It wasn’t easy admitting I had to supplement with formula but with in two weeks, even with all the pumping, Dani was on straight formula because I had no milk. I tried everything, mother’s milk tea, massaging my collar bone and chest area, warm compresses, even a beer but nothing worked.

Now last week I found out Dani has acid reflux.

She was spitting up a lot it seemed to me but babies spit up. It wasn’t until my sister who had two newborns with reflux fed her once that she mentioned Dani’s eating was typical of a baby with acid reflux. So after a day of extreme fussiness I called her doctor.

Her doctor put her on zantac 3 times a day and told me to add rice cereal to her formula – which would weight it down so that she would keep it down. And here a week and a half later we are still dealing with the constant spitting up and vomiting (forceful rather than dribbling like spit up).

It doesn’t seem to bother Dani, and the doctor said that it should work itself out with in the next month or two. And apparently the zantac is just to keep her stomach acid down so it doesn’t do any damage to her esophagus so it doesn’t do anything for the vomiting.

But I still feel horrible and can’t seem to get anything done.

Hopefully though, like the doctor said, it will work itself out soon.

Leave a Reply

