could i have been anyone other than me?

Angelina Jolie has always been someone I admired greatly.

I am not going to sit here and list the reasons why, I am sure you either feel the same way or you don’t, we all have the right to an opinion. But, either way, you have to admit she is a strong woman. She birthed twins!

Angelina has played the heroine in movies for years but now she once again proved herself worthy of heroine status when she came out about her decision to have both of her breasts removed because she was at an extremely high risk for developing breast cancer. She lost both her mother and grandmother to cancer and because of this she doesn’t want her children to go through that.

I can’t blame her.

I worry constantly about what would become of Dani if something happened to me. It is the whole motive behind my losing weight, to get my heart healthy again so that I can be around for a long time to enjoy my daughter’s life.

She also wanted to let women know that their breasts don’t define their femininity. That just because you lose your breasts, whether to cancer or being pro-active about preventing it or to some other terrible reason, you are still a woman… you are still feminine… and you are still beautiful!

I met someone through social media who has breast cancer and recently had a double mastectomy… let’s call her Sugar Magnolia 😉

She is also one of my heroines. Through her on-line posts she shared her story with me and others and I can truly say I am lucky to have made her acquaintance.

Sugar Magnolia has definitely handled her battle with breast cancer with dignity, maturity, strength, courage, and grace. I can’t imagine what she has gone through and can only hope that I would handle something like this with the same.

And so I hope to be more like Angie and Sugar and I fight for equality for all and I proudly call myself a feminist.

I want to leave my daughter with a world where her worth is not questioned because she is the wrong gender or sexual orientation.

I want her to be able to make all decisions concerning her body and to have access to the medical treatment that she decides.

And I want to teach her to stand up for those who cannot stand up for themselves… like Angelina and Sugar have done.

So I ask you again…

Could I have been anyone other than me???

~^~^~^~^~

Read Angelina’s story

NPR Follow up

Breast Cancer Risk in American Women

Leave a Reply

