the dreaming tree has died

I apologize for disappearing these past couple of weeks, I know I promised to be more diligent about my blogging, and I still intend to be, but two weeks ago a very dear friend of mine was diagnosed with lung cancer.

At first, we thought hey, he can beat this, but in a matter of days his prognosis went from bad to dismal and his life expectancy from 2 months to maybe another week. Seeing my friend of 20 years that last night curled up in a ball on his bed, grasping my hand with what little strength he had left, begging to die was devastating.

This is a man who had been a rock for me over the last 20 years, he was there for me when no one else was and he never made me feel less adequate or at all inferior because several of our beliefs were not the same.

He was kind and compassionate, strong and silent, an avid learner, always pushing himself and me to learn as much about life and the universe as we possibly could.

He was funny and sensitive, intelligent beyond most, he loved to travel and see the world.

He didn’t really like people as a whole, he thought they were petty and selfish and acted entitled, but he was the most loyal and loving friend anyone could be blessed to have.

Lester – How do I find the words that can fully express my gratitude and love for the friendship you have given me over the last 20 years? There are no words really.

Both Dani and my lives were so much better for having known you and we will miss your presence deeply. You will live on in our hearts and our memories.

Always.

Rest in Peace my friend – Lester B. Reed – December 30, 1957 to December 14, 2013

Dani with her Uncle Lester
Dani with her Uncle Lester
2 thoughts on “the dreaming tree has died

  1. Boni I only met Lester twice I feel I lost out not getting to know him better however I have learned a lot about the man he was thru your words… He will truly not be forgotten…

Leave a Reply

