open up that lovely flower

When I first started this blog approximately 3 years ago, I used to name all my posts by using lyrics from Dave Matthews’ songs. Since then, I have modified my post naming format a bit and I tend to use varying naming conventions these days.

Tonight though, I am reverting to my DMB lyrics love because I have a very important topic I want to write about and his lyrics fit the post perfectly.

One of my favorite songs by Dave Matthews is, SURPRISE, a song about Cunnilingus.

For those of you who don’t know what cunnilingus is, click here

Well, a man once asked me why I would listen to Dave Matthews and not Eminem, Little Wayne, Outcast, and numerous other rap musicians that obviously sing about having sex with women too.

Ahem.

Dave (and his band) LOVE singing about sex with women. This shows in many of their lyrics.

BUT, the difference between Dave’s lyrics and some of the other musician’s lyrics that this guy mentioned is that Dave very much makes it clear how much he respects women by how he treats them in his lyrics.

These other guys?

They seem to think calling a woman a bitch and a ho is foreplay. <deep sigh>

For example:

Dave Matthews’s “Cornbread” Lyrics 

It soars inside my soul because of you
All that innocence that you inspire
You know you are as heaven intended you
Open up that lovely flower

The love inside of your head
With the love inside my head
All that we need to make love happen

Eminem’s “Shake That”Lyrics

Three to the one from the one to the three
I met a bad bitch last night in the D
Let me tell you how I made her leave with me
Conversation and Hennessey
I’ve been to the muthafuckin’ mountain top
Heard muthafuckers talk, seen and dropped
If I ain’t got a weapon I’m a pick up a rock
And when I bust yo ass I’m a continue to rock

Dave’s “Hunger For The Great Light” Lyrics

I want to be your hunger
I want to see you open wide
I want to go down for you
I want to blow your mind 

Outkast’s “Hootie Hoo” Lyrics

Follow the funk from the skunk
And the dank that is crunk in the Dungeon
It goes on and on and on, like that
Going out to the Jeeps and hoes in the ‘llac

Dave’s “Shake Me Like A Monkey” Lyrics

I like my coffee with toast and jelly
But I’d rather be licking from your back to your belly

Dr Dre’s “Bitches ain’t shit but hoes and tricks…” Lyrics

uhm… I am pretty sure that one speaks for itself.

So… do you get my point???

and… for your (AND MY) listening pleasure… yum

 

In case you need more reasons as to why I love this man and his band so much…

9 Dave Matthews Band Songs that Are Definitely About Going Down on Women

 

 

One thought on “open up that lovely flower

Leave a Reply

