What My Father Should Have Taught Me…

That I am a person. A bona-fide human being with rights and responsibilities, regardless of my gender.

That it was NOT okay for me to accept less money for the same education/experience/skill level as a man.

That it was NOT okay for a man to hit me. Even if I didn’t do the dishes.

That it was NOT okay for a man to rape me. Even if I was naked and drunk.

And that, regardless of my martial status, I did NOT deserve to be limited to a sexual object at the mercy of the affections of a man because I did not have a man/partner in my life. 

A father should teach his little girl her self-worth before another man destroys it.

Leave a Reply

